Log In

 
Company : Business Wire 
Monday, May 27, 2002 11:20AM IST (5:50AM GMT)
 
(BW)(PLACER-DOME)(PDG)(PDG.TO)(PDG.AX)
Placer Dome to Host Investor Conference Calls to Discuss the Proposed Acquisition of AurionGold
Sydney, Australia & Vancouver, Canada

Placer Dome (TSX: PDG, NYSE: PDG, ASX: PDG) will host two dial-in investor conference calls to discuss the proposed acquisition of AurionGold.

Due to the Memorial Day Holiday in the United States, there will be an investor conference call for the North American market on Tuesday, May 28, 2002 at 9:30 AM EDT, 6:30 AM PDT, 11:30 PM AEST. Individuals can access the call by dialling 1-888-694-4768. Those individuals calling from outside the United States and Canada should dial +973-321-1030.

For those individuals who are able to participate, Placer Dome will also host an investor conference call for the Australian market on Sunday, May 26, 2002 at 8:30 PM EDT, 5:30 PM PDT, Monday May 27, 2002 10:30 AM AEST. Individuals calling from the United States and Canada can access the call by dialing 1-800-4200-0000. Individuals calling from Australia should dial 1-800-00-96-96. All other international participants (or for operator assistance) please dial +61-3-9221-9755.

WHAT: Placer Dome North American Investor Conference Call

WHEN: Tuesday, May 28, 2002 at 9:30 AM EDT, 11:30 PM AEST,
6:30 AM PDT.

CONFERENCE
CALL NUMBER: 1-888-694-4768 within U.S. and Canada (+973-321-1030
outside U.S. and Canada).
Dial-in by 9:15 AM EDT, 11:15 PM AEST, 6:15 AM PDT.

CONTACT: Paul Caminiti/Stephanie Pillersdorf/Dan Gagnier
Citigate Sard Verbinnen
212-687-8080

WHAT: Placer Dome Australian Investor Conference Call

WHEN: Sunday, May 26, 2002 at 8:30 PM EDT, 5:30 PM PDT, Monday
May 27, 2002, 10:30 AM AEST.

CONFERENCE
CALL NUMBER: 1-800-4200-0000 within U.S. and Canada (as well as NZ,
South Africa, Singapore, HK, Japan, South Korea, UK,
excluding Irish Republic; 1-800-00-96-96 within
Australia; +61-3-9221-9755 all other countries and for
the emergency help line).

CONTACT: Hinton & Associates
Lisa Keenan
+61-3-9600-1979

Placer Dome's investor conference calls will be simultaneously webcast over the Internet through Placer Dome's website, www.placerdome.com. To listen to the webcast, please log on to the website prior to the scheduled call time to register and download any necessary audio software.

The replay of the North American conference call will be available until June 4, 2002. Individuals can access the replay by dialing 1-877-519-4471 within the U.S. and Canada, and +973-341-3080 outside the U.S. and Canada. The reference number is 3296625.

The replay of the Australian conference call will be available until June 4, 2002. Individuals can access the replay by dialing 1-800-501-706 within Australia (Code - 444999), 1-800-677-6200 or 1-913-385-6780 within North America (Code - 2272), +61-3-9221-4752 for International callers (Code - 444999).

The replays of both conference calls can also be accessed over the Internet through Placer Dome's website: www.placerdome.com .

ABOUT PLACER DOME

Placer Dome is North America's third largest gold mining company by market capitalisation and is one of the largest gold miners in the world in terms of annual production. Placer Dome's share of gold production from its operations for 2001 was approximately 2.8 million ounces at a cash cost of US$177 per ounce.

Placer Dome is listed on the NYSE, Toronto Stock Exchange, ASX, Euronext Paris, Swiss Exchange and International Depository Receipts representing its common shares are listed on the Euronext Brussels. As at 24 May 2002, Placer Dome had 330 million shares on issue and a closing price of US$14.27 per share on the NYSE at that date gave the company a market capitalisation of US$4.7 billion.

As at 31 December 2001, Placer Dome had total assets of approximately US$2.7 billion and cashflow from operations for 2001 of approximately US$364 million.

 
 
 
Submit your press release
More News from Business Wire

18/10/2018 6:29PM

Corporate Social Responsibility Related News Releases and Story Ideas for Reporters, Bloggers and Media Outlets

Following are the latest Corporate Social Responsibility news releases and story ideas available from Business Wire. These recaps, curated by Business Wire, provide reporters and bloggers around the globe instant access ...

04/10/2018 6:50PM

Corporate Social Responsibility Related News Releases and Story Ideas for Reporters, Bloggers and Media Outlets

Following are the latest Corporate Social Responsibility news releases and story ideas available from Business Wire. These recaps, curated by Business Wire, provide reporters and bloggers around the globe instant access ...

27/09/2018 6:40PM

Corporate Social Responsibility Related News Releases and Story Ideas for Reporters, Bloggers and Media Outlets

Following are the latest Corporate Social Responsibility news releases and story ideas available from Business Wire. These recaps, curated by Business Wire, provide reporters and bloggers around the globe instant access ...

Similar News

07/06/2018 12:26PM

Diamond Prices Stable Through Vegas Show Season

Diamond prices were stable in May as businesses focused on the Las Vegas shows that began on May 30.

No Image

02/05/2018 12:47PM

Diamond Prices Stable Amid Slow April Trading

The diamond market was seasonally quiet in April as dealers took vacation over the Passover and Easter holidays. Polished prices were steady, with manufacturers protecting their profit margins against recent rough-price ...